Nicole’s Ten

I just discovered Nicole’s Ten in Randolph, NJ. I can’t believe I just found out about this place! It has more than 130 bottled beers and 12 beers on tap. I prefer to drink draft beer and Nicole’s Ten had beers on tap than I have never seen anywhere else before.  It is a restaurant and bar, but the restaurant area is definitely more formal than the bar. The beers are reasonably priced, starting at $6. However, dinner entrees are expensive-a burger is $20! They have plenty of appetizers for about $10 if you don’t want to spend that much or you can just grab a beer at the bar.

Nicole's 10

Beers I sampled:

1. Abita Brewing Mardi Gras Bock (6.5% alcohol): I love pilsner, so I was immediately drawn to this beer when I saw it on the menu. It is similar to a German Maibock. It has a brown color and a earthy malt aroma. The malt flavor is dominant in this beer while the hops flavor is minimal. Also, this beer has a higher alcohol content than traditional lagers, so this is represented in its taste. It paired perfectly with my steak.

2. River Horse Coffee Oatmeal Stout (6.7% alcohol): If stouts are your beer of choice, than this is probably not the beer for you. This Milk/Sweet Stout is sweeter than most stouts I am used to. It has an almost black, fresh-brewed coffee color. Coffee Oatmeal Stout has a roasted, chocolate and coffee aroma. The coffee flavor is dominant, but you can taste hints of chocolate as you drink this brew. It is surprisingly smooth and doesn’t have a strong aftertaste. I am a fan of River Horse and have never seen this beer on tap anywhere. Definitely worth trying! However, I think this is probably too sweet for people who regularly drink stouts.

Leave a Reply

