Gary’s Wine and Marketplace

Finding craft beers at your local liquor store is not always an easy feat. I have several liquor stores within a few miles of my home, but I feel like they all have the same generic beers. I heard about Gary’s Wine and Marketplace and its beer selection last year. I finally stopped in and realized what I have been missing! I visited the one in Madison, NJ. The staff was really helpful. Several people asked me if I needed help while I was there and one of the employees even suggested a beer based on others that I liked. The beer selection here was AMAZING! The store is predominantly stocked with wine, but there were two aisles and a giant cooler in the back. They offer beers from across the nation, Europe and Japan. Also, they offer sampler six-packs of Gary’s picks-of-the-month. I was really excited to see many of the brands I became familiar with on my trip to Colorado. I spent over an hour perusing the beers and another 30 minutes making my final decision.

I purchased these beers:

Rogue 3x choc. stout

1. Rogue Double Chocolate Stout (8-9% alcohol): Not sure what exactly what the ABV on this one is, but I know it either 8% or 9%. I bought one pint of this delicious beer! The first thing I noticed when pouring this beer is it’s black color. Normally, when people say a beer is black, it is dark, but still translucent. Not this American Double Chocolate Imperial Stout! Usually this is something that scares me off, but I took a sip anyway. This brew has a small dark caramel head. Double Chocolate Stout smells like chocolate milk, mild vanilla and slight roasted malts along with coffee at the end. It tastes creamy with notes of roasted malt, sweet cocoa and coffee. This beer had a dominant flavor at first, but finished with a light flavor. I actually enjoyed this because stouts have a strong aftertaste sometimes. Also, minor alcohol traces in the flavor, nothing too drastic considering 8.0% ABV.

2. Southern Tier Eurotrash Pilz (5.2% alcohol): To be honest, the first thing that attracted me to this beer was the packaging and the fact that it is a pilsner lager. I know that is not the best way to choose beer, but I was intrigued enough to purchase a six-pack. This seasonal brew has a light golden color. This beer is on the lighter side. It has a mild grainy/grassy aroma. It is brewed with two types of hops and two types of malt! It is a bit sweet at first, but you can taste a little bit of bitterness from the hops at the end. Eurotrash Pilz is highly drinkable any time of the year. It is available beginning in January.

Eurotrash Pilz

I wish could have bought more, but my refrigerator was full. I will definitely be back!

5 thoughts on “Gary’s Wine and Marketplace

  1. I usually do not leave a lot of comments, but i did a few searching and
    wound up here Garys Wine and Marketplace | Head Over Beers.
    And I do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be just me or does it seem like some of these responses look like coming from brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are posting at other online social sites, I’d like to
    follow anything fresh you have to post. Could you list of the complete urls of all your social sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  2. Pingback: Beer of the Week: Kloster Andechs Vollbier Hell | Head Over Beers

Leave a Reply

