Gaslight Brewery and Restaurant

Gaslight

Gaslight Brewery and Restaurant is a family-owned Brew-Pub in South Orange, NJ. I was a bit apprehensive about to Gaslight because a lot of the reviews I read were negative. comments said the owners were rude and unfriendly. I did NOT have this experience at Gaslight. The bartender was very friendly when I walked in and checked on my friend and I periodically. He also allowed me to sample a couple beers before I made my final selection. I was glad I ignored some of the reviews and checked it out.

Gaslight always has eight of its own brews on tap as well as several other craft brews that change with the season. I came here with the intention of eating, but the menu was really extensive-way too many options in my opinion. I did notice some interesting grub, but it didn’t seem worth the price. There were some appetizers for under $10, but besides that it was pricy. As for the beer, I tried two of Gaslight’s brews:

photo 2(6)

1. Pinhead Pilsner (5% alcohol): This Czech-style pilsner is brewed with German Pilsner Malt. It has a golden/copper color and spicy aroma. I detected malt and floral notes immediately. Pinhead Pilsner has a crisp, bitter flavor with undertones of honey and malt. It has a lighter, less bitter flavor than Pilsner Urquell, but is not light. This beer has high drinkability. It won’t fill you up, but doesn’t sacrifice flavor.

2. Perfect Stout (5% alcohol): This Irish Dry stout reminded me of Guinness, but it had less head and wasn’t as smooth. It had a dark brown/black color. It had a roasted aroma along with hints of chocolate and caramel. It is brewed with American Roasted barley, so this was definitely represented in its smell. You do taste the flavors of the ingredients that you smell, but this beer tasted a bit watery. I wouldn’t say this is a bad beer, but it definitely isn’t the “perfect stout.”

Regardless, I would visit Gaslight again. They have several other beers that I would like to try in the future.

2 thoughts on “Gaslight Brewery and Restaurant

  1. Hey, new reader here! My boyfriend & I LOVE gaslight for a special treat. It’s pricey but the food is SO good. We might have a problem b/c now they know us by name haha 🙂

    • Thanks for following my blog! 🙂 I’ve only been here once but my boyfriend and I really enjoyed it as well. We planned to eat dinner there, but were a bit turned off by the prices. You make it sound like the food is well worth it, so I think I will have to give Gaslight’s food a try. Maybe lunch!

Leave a Reply

