Poor Henry’s

Poor Henry’s in Boonton, NJ has some unique beers on draft. They have a limited selection of draft craft beers, but change their offerings regularly. They also have a number of craft beers available in bottles that you can pick and choose to create your own beer bucket! I thought this was a nice feature because you can try a few different things. Plus, if you are going with friends you can all try something different and save some cash! I decided to go with the “Beer Flight” for $7. I choose 4 beers from their craft beer draft list. Poor Henry’s also fills growlers for $15! This is about $3 – $5 cheaper compared to other places that do this in the area.

Poor Henry's

  1. Elysian Superfuzz (5.4% alcohol): This Blood Orange Pale Ale from Seattle-based brewer, Elysian Brewing Company, was not quite what I expected. It pours a hazy orange with a small, bright white head. The blood orange creates a citrus aroma and overall subtle sweetness. On the other hand, the hops is still noticeable in both the aroma and flavor. I expected SuperFuzz to be sweet, but it definitely had a Pale Ale taste to it with a distinct bitterness that slightly mellows out from the sweetness of the blood orange. The best way to describe Elysian Superfuzz is a summer version of a pale ale. I thoroughly enjoyed this beer for its ability to combine traditional Pale Ale flavors along with citrus to produce a highly-drinkable beer.
  2. Weyerbacher Aquila (7.1% alcohol): This Beligan-style Farmhouse Ale is part of Weyerbacher’s Brewer’s Select beers, so it is brewed in limited quantities. It is a clear golden-yellow with almost no head. Aquila has a malty, earthy aroma to it. As for flavor, this beer was a bit robust for my taste. Toasted wheat and rye malts along with Bravo and Simcoe hops are used to create this brew’s complex flavor. However, the high alcohol content also contributed to the overall strong, bitter hoppy flavor. Overall, this beer was a bit much for me, especially on a 100-degree day. I can appreciate Aquila, but I could see myself drinking this on a cooler night. Not my favorite.
  3. Carton Monkey Chased the Weasel (3.9% alcohol): This sour ale from Carton Brewing  is brewed with mulberries and is well – sour! I thought sour beers were growing on me, and I actually enjoyed the last few that I sampled. However, this brew was not for me. It pours a cloudy pinkish-orange with almost no head. The color reminds me of a really ripe grapefruit. Monkey Chased the Weasel smells of citrus along with sweet tartness from the mulberries. I think the aroma was sweeter than what this brew actually tasted like. This beer was way too sour for me. Sourness was all I tasted. The other sour beers I’ve had were able to maintain complex flavor along with a nice addition of sourness. However, I felt that the sour flavor dominated this beer and there was not much else to balance out the flavor. To be honest, when I first tasted it, I was wondering if this batch got ruined or if the keg was old. If you’re intrigued by this style of beer, click here to read more about sour beer and it’s history.
  4. Bolero Snort’s Gimme S’mores (5% alcohol): This amber lager was my favorite beer of the flight by far. Maybe it was because I expected it to be horrible, but it was DELICIOUS. Gimme S’mores is a 39th anniversary beer. It really balanced out the s’mores flavor without overpowering the beer. It pours an amber brown with a minimal white head.  You can actually taste the malt, chocolate and cinnamon. It sounds weird, but this beer is not sweet. Bolero Snort was able to blend these flavors along with the natural lager flavors perfectly to create one seriously awesome beer. I could easily drink several pints of this and not feel guilty one bit! I did some research on this brew and it was very hard to find information. If you see this on tap or at your local liquor store, take my advice and buy! You won’t regret it. Plus, it’s summertime, who doesn’t want s’mores?
3 thoughts on “Poor Henry’s

Leave a Reply

