Harpoon Winter Warmer

Harpoon Winter WarmerHarpoon Winter Warmer (5.9%) alcohol): This seasonal brew from Harpoon Brewery, based in Boston, is sure to put you in the mood for the holiday season. The name itself was appealing on a cold December night, but I still had to get a second opinion before I ordered. The bartender summed it up pretty nicely; “It tastes like Christmas!” Warmer pours copper with an off-white head that dissolves instantly. I immediately stuck my nose in the glass and was pleasantly surprised with an aroma of sweet apples, spicy cinnamon and nutmeg. At first sip, I was expecting and overly sweet beer. However, Winter Warmer has a smooth, crisp flavor. The spiciness of the cinnamon and nutmeg helps to mellow out the sweetness. A bit of malt comes through at the end, but then finished with the same sweet spiciness. This beer is unlike other spiced ales I’ve had. The low ABV allows Winter Warmer to take on a different flavor profile. I’m glad I tried this beer on tap, but you won’t see me buying a 6-pack anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

