Beer of the Week: Goose Island Sofie

Goose Island SofieGoose Island Sofie (6.5% alcohol): This saison/farmhouse ale from Goose Island Beer Company in Chicago pours a hazy, straw yellow with a small, thin head that doesn’t last long. The aroma is made up of fruity citrus, grass, earthy yeast and a bit of musty funk. Tart orange citrus mixed with breadiness and caramel malt is complemented by peppery spiciness and finishes with a bit of sweetness. Sofie manages to have a nice, clean finish even with its complex flavor profile. This is a light, refreshing, highly drinkable beer that pairs well with many of my favorite summer dishes such as Beer Steamed Clams.

Sofie was awarded the Bronze Medal – Belgian and French Style Saison award at the Great American Beer Festival in 2011.

5 thoughts on “Beer of the Week: Goose Island Sofie

  1. I can’t say I’d try the clams but I love this beer. My wife and I were able to try it at a beer fest about a year ago. It’s a delightful blond. Beer. Okay, I know, it’s a saison …

  2. I was in Chicago a few weeks ago for a wedding and decided to give this beer a go. Hottest week of the summer, so said the locals……just a lot like Houston to me….sticky, muggy and never changes. I enjoyed thisbeer on this type of day. I’m just sorry that Goose Island has gone over to the dark side. I just hope they can maintain some autonomy and will continue to craft great beers!

    • Lucky you! Looks like you visited Chi-town during a great week! Totally agree with your assessment; this beer was great on a hot/humid day. (I know all about that living in NJ) I have to admit I was a bit turned off by the brand once I heard the news, but so far so good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

