Beer of the Week: Smuttynose Vunderbar Pilsner


IMG_1577Smuttynose Vunderbar Pilsner (4.9% ABV):
This German-style pilsner brewed by Smuttynose Brewing Company located in Hampton, New Hampshire pours a hazy pale yellow with a two-finger white head that slowly thins. Grassy, sweet malt and zesty lemon come together for a subtle yet refreshing aroma. A malt foundation begins followed by sweet honey and grassy herbs with a slightly bitter finish. This is a decent beer, but not a great representation of the style. I was hoping for a traditional German pils with more depth, but I got an easy drinking beer that seemed a bit bland. I can only reminisce about my trip to Bavaria.

One thought on “Beer of the Week: Smuttynose Vunderbar Pilsner

  1. Sometimes I need to be reminded that it’s okay to use descriptors that aren’t “the norm.” As long as we are effectively communicating a flavor and a feeling, we reviewers can dare to be adventurous.

Leave a comment